Family · Reminiscing

Stella by Starlight

My Father-in-law once told me I should write a book about my life.

I’m not sure it’s interesting enough to warrant that – I’m just a normal person with a normal life…but then again- what’s normal?

So – to begin at the beginning.

When she was 18yrs old my Mum fell in love with an older man and the first time they consummated their relationship – I was the result! My Mum never told him about me but never saw him again. I’m not sure I’d be happy if my daughter came home with this news, but my Nan didn’t bat an eyelid and so I was welcomed into the family.

My Mum had planned to call me Gay…I know…but in the hospital heard a song by her favourite artist that changed her mind. That song was Stella by Starlight by Frank Sinatra. You could say it’s my signature tune, and I’m quite pleased because it’s such a beautiful song. This is Me and my Mum.Image

5 thoughts on “Stella by Starlight

  1. What a lovely story behind your name.
    Mine was plucked out of the air in a panic when I was 3weeks old and hadn’t been registered yet as my parents were convinced I was going to be a boy!!
    Good luck with your blog. I look forward to reading x

Leave a Reply

