Cookery

Bread and butter pudding

One of the things I love is cooking and baking. I probably watch too many cooking shows, and own a few too many cookbooks. One of my resolutions last year was to try a new thing every month that I hadn’t tried before to expand my repertoire. I really enjoyed that, and plan to continue that this year.
In this few weeks after Christmas, when we’ve all eaten too much, and there are still treats in the house that we can’t face and the weather is still dark, wet and dingy you need something comforting. Because of my Italian connection I always have a Pannetone for Christmas, which invariably ends up still in the box through January, so this is a way of using it that is delicious.

Pannetone Bread and Butter Pudding

Let’s face it, this British staple is not difficult, and actually it’s very forgiving and you can mix the ingredients up a bit. For this version I’ve used the aforementioned Pannetone.

1) Slice and cut the Pannetone into pieces that will fit into a 20cm x20cm ovenproof container. Spread some butter across the top. You don’t need too much as this type of bread is quite rich.
2) In a jug mix 2 eggs, a splash of cream and 300ml milk. Pour this over the bread and allow to soak in for 15 minutes, then top up with any that may be left.
3) Sprinkle some brown sugar over the top.
4) Place in a preheated oven 160 degrees C for 20 minutes, then 180 degrees for another 10 minutes to make the top crispy.

20140113-105244.jpg

Enjoy warm with custard or cream…or just on it’s own.

2 thoughts on “Bread and butter pudding

  1. So glad you posted this, Stella! I’ve been after a decent recipe for bread and butter pudding. So this page has been posted to my favourites for future reference.
    I’ll let you know the verdict from the family when I make it. 🙂 x

    1. Thank you. You can use any bread…if you use sliced white you just butter each slice, I cut mine diagonally so it looks pretty and sometimes put marmalade or Apricot jam on as well. If you like dried fruit, sprinkle some of that too. The principle is the same.

Leave a Reply

