Family · Wellbeing

Me and Getting older

This week I’m approaching a birthday that is halfway between 2 “significant” ones. It’s not one to properly celebrate, and Hubby will be away on a business trip, so I don’t think it will be a big deal. What it does make me think about is my Mum. Since she died, this has made me the oldest in our strand of the family, and although I have Aunts and Uncles it sometimes makes me feel ancient. In my head I’m still 28 so how can my nieces and nephews be old enough to be married? I know that getting older is definitely better than not getting any older, so I think I’m just going to enjoy the Spa Day my sisters and I have planned for Sunday when we will giggle, chat, probably disagree, and remember that whatever happens, we are there for each other through thick and thin.
Pah! I shall laugh in the face of age – until the next time my back goes or I can’t remember where I’ve put my glasses and find them in the fridge! (Yes, that happened this week!)

Leave a Reply

