Baking

Me and A Simnel Bundt Recipe

I’ve never made a Simnel cake, but I do like a Bundt and Marzipan, so I thought I’d see whether I could combine the two.

Set the oven at 160 degrees, and grease and flour a Bundt pan

I took 2 Tesco Finest Chai Teabags and made them up in a jug with 300ml hot water. I chose them because they have a similar taste to Mixed Spice and I wanted to plump the fruits up. I put an assortment of Golden Raisins, Dried Sour Cherries, Apricots and Sultanas in this liquid to soak for an hour. There was about 300g of fruit in total. You can use whatever fruits you have in the cupboard.

20140417-194128.jpg
Drain the fruits and set to one side.

Cream together 225g Unsalted Butter, 300g Golden Caster Sugar, and 50g Soft Brown Sugar in a large bowl. A mixer will obviously help this process.

Add 4 eggs one at a time.

In one Jug mix 350g plain flour, 1 1/2 tsp mixed spice or more if you want it slightly more spicy, 1/2tsp salt, 1/2tsp Bicarbonate of Soda. Put the fruits into the mixture to cover them in flour…it stops the fruit from sinking.

In another jug mix 250g Plain Yogurt, 1tsp lemon juice, and 1tsp vanilla extract.

Into the main mixture add half the yogurt mixture, then sift half the flour mixture, making sure the fruit stays in the sieve. Then repeat the process. Next put the fruit into the mixture and mix gently.

20140417-195735.jpg

Pour the mixture into your Bundt tin

Cut 150g Marzipan into 12 pieces and put them into the mixture in the tin at regular intervals. Tradionally there are 11 pieces in a Simnel cake, so one can be a cook’s perk!

20140417-200207.jpg
(In my first attempt I put half the mixture in, then the marzipan, then the rest of the cake mixture and the Marzipan sunk)

Cook for 1hr and check. It will probably need a further 15-30mins, so check every 10 mins or so.

I usually leave my Bundt tin in the oven when I switch it off for about 15 mins, then put it on to a rack to cool for another 15-30 mins before I turn it out. If you have greased and floured the tin correctly, it should just come straight out.

Decorate or not , whatever you fancy. I chose a Bunny Egg Hunt.

20140417-200816.jpg

Enjoy!

Many thanks to dollybakes.co.uk for the starting recipe which I tweaked.

14 thoughts on “Me and A Simnel Bundt Recipe

  1. i wanted to make a simnel cake this year but just ran out of time. i love how you adpated the recipe and made it to your own and i love your easter decorations too. mmmm now i fancy a slice x

Leave a Reply

