Craft · Fashion · Reminiscing

Me and knitting

My Mum and my Nan always had knitting needles in their hands. As kids we always had something hand knitted. A few things that I remember are a particularly fetching batwing jumper with 2 stripes from the waistband over each shoulder that my Mum knitted me when I was about 9, and one Christmas – it must have been in the 80s – my Nan knitted all us girls fair-isle leg warmers which we all wore with pride. I also had a fabulous cherry red knitted skirt and jacket suit that my Mum made me when I was about 20 that I loved wearing. In this picture of me and my Mum we are both wearing jumpers that my Mum knitted…I loved that jumper!

20140519-100655-36415129.jpg

I’m not sure when I learned to knit although I have a suspicion that it was in the mid 70s when due to a certain Dr Who we all wanted scarves that were at least 6 ft long. They were knitted on needles that were as fat as your thumb so they knitted quickly. I made mine in school colours so the 3 of us who walked to school together could all wrap it around our necks. I was advised that it really wasn’t school uniform, so to refrain ASAP. I still wore it with my long coat though…I think it came down to my ankles even wrapped twice around my neck.

I don’t remember knitting anything substantial since. I can do knit and purl, and cables, but some of the obviously more complicated stitches elude me and reading some of the patterns makes no sense to me. I love yarn and have bought some and stashed it away knowing that one day I would make something from it. I think that the fact that I need to plan it way in advance as I’m not a very fast knitter puts me off. I did make a lovely red and white striped baby outfit of a jumper and leggings in a gorgeous 4ply French yarn when pregnant with my boy, and was really pleased that he looked so adorable in it.

A couple of years ago I found some gorgeous textural yarn that I just had to have. I bought a few balls not having any idea what I would make. I didn’t buy very much, so decided that actually a scarf was the most obvious solution as I’m a scarf wearer, and there would be no shaping or trickiness. Because the yarn was so interesting, I knew that I’d only need to use a simple knit stitch so I cast on and got knitting! I was very pleased with the result.

20140519-095200-35520204.jpg

I was on a roll! I went through my stash again and discovered a beautiful variegated yarn, again a small amount, so decided that I’d try a Rib pattern. It turned out well…it’s very pretty and warm!

20140519-110532-39932278.jpg

Fairly recently I visited a Stitching and Craft fair with my friend and there were amazing yarns made of silk mixtures and they cost a lot of money! But I was drawn to a stall that had patterns and yarns bundled up with enough to make the garment at a really reasonable cost and this stole ( I know – it’s only one step up from a scarf) really caught my eye. The yarn is 90% recycled and the pattern didn’t actually look too complicated even though the garment looks great.

20140519-111629-40589642.jpg
That’s what I’m knitting now. It’s so therapeutic and it’s growing quite quickly. Now I’ve got the hang of it I’m thinking I might make my sisters one each for Christmas! What do you think? Would you like to receive this as a gift?

20140519-111344-40424726.jpg

7 thoughts on “Me and knitting

  1. Lovely post, Stella with some nice pics. Love the one of you and your mum.
    I would be thrilled to receive the shawl – I’m sure your sisters will love them.
    I knit but for me, it’s a winter sport because my hands get so hot and the wool squeaks against the needles. Urgh! I’m quite impatient when it comes to knitting so I mostly knit scarves and I knits em BIG! 😀 x

    1. My knitting used to be very tight, my mum told me to put talc on my needles! But now I have bamboo needles they’re so much better. They don’t scrape against each other.

  2. How lovely that knitting is so special to you and your mum and nan =] i don’t think i’d have the patience to knit. I might try it one day. The scarves you’ve made are brilliant, i love the multi coloured one. A customer at work knitted me a lovely yellow blanket for Erin, just a small one which was a perfect size for her car seat and have put it in Erin’s memory box now. I think handmade presents are the best, much more thoughtful and special. I think your sisters would be lucky to have a knitted scarf for christmas! Love the picture of you and your mum =] a very sweet post xxx

Leave a Reply

