Family

Me and Fathers Day – the dilemma

Father’s Day is always a bit of a strange one for me if I’m honest. I never knew my own Dad and my Mum had a husband and several boyfriends as I was growing up. She did marry my Stepfather when I was 10 but after all the changes I had in my life, I didn’t know how long he was likely to be around. It turned out to be quite a long time, but as he was only 14 years older than me, we never had that Dad and daughter thing. As an adult I learned to respect that he had taken on my Mum and 3 kids and worked hard to keep us fed and watered. He was unfortunately killed in a motorbike accident in his mid 40s – a real loss to my siblings who were his real children and were still in their teens.

My Father-in-law was always difficult to be around. He was an Alcoholic.

I am grateful that my Husband has been a wonderful Father to our children – I guess I managed to choose well.

This year Fathers Day also coincides with my Mum’s Birthday. She’s been gone for almost 8 years now. So…bittersweet all round for me. Just a bit blah.

4 thoughts on “Me and Fathers Day – the dilemma

  1. Sounds to me like you made an excellent choice in Dad for your children Stella. I’m fortunate enough to have an amazing Dad, but if I didn’t I’d also be fortunate to know my Father in heaven, who loves us so very much. Blessings to you & you family on Father’s Dayx Lizzie XO

Leave a Reply

