Wellbeing

Me and Fitness

I was never that good at sport when I was at school. I enjoyed it, but was never in any Teams. I loved the BAGA awards that you had to do specific gymnastic things to get a badge to sew on your leotard. I think I got 5.

When I was a young adult the Fitness craze really hit us with Jane Fonda and her leotard-clad body, telling us to “Go for the burn!” I used to go to Jazz Dance classes, which I loved, and later Aerobics, which really made you out of breath. This, of course, was before babies came along and I had neither the time or the energy. Although, when my boy was about 6 months or so, my friend -who had a similar aged baby- and I would take them in their carrier seats and sit them by the side of our Step Classes. I always thought Step was somewhat boring.

When you have a buggy to push, there is quite a nice level of fitness available to you, and as both the play group and school my children went to were within walking distance for 8 years this was my main exercise. I was always running backwards and forwards several times a day.

Once they went to Senior school I could easily have done classes, and did some Aqua aerobics with a friend for a while, which was great fun.
When my sister lived quite close we went swimming between 2-3 times a week for a Summer before she went off travelling. This was really good because I am a very nervous swimmer, and I improved from not being able to swim one length to being able to swim 10. It wasn’t fast, and it wasn’t pretty, but I did it.

Last May someone on Twitter started a 100k in May in which you had to walk said amount. All you needed was a pedometer. I thought it would be tricky, but I made the effort and did manage to do it. I’m not sure I could progress to jogging…I really don’t fancy pounding pavements. I did buy jogging shoes…they’ve been sat by the door for months!

You see, the problem I have is that I like the sociability of it, and if you have no one to go with, it is easy to not bother – especially when the weather is awful.

When I went for my “Woman Of A a Certain Age MOT” last Summer, my health wasn’t bad. I’ve never smoked, I’ve never drunk, and I like to cook from scratch, so our diet isn’t as bad as some. The Pharmacist said that I should try and do 20-30 minutes of exercise 3 times a week that made me out of breath. I asked if doing the Wii Fit would be enough, and he said any exercise was better than none. So I started doing it and, no doubt about it, my fitness improved. I could even jog in the comfort of my own living room. I couldn’t do it when my daughter was around because she would snigger at me. After a couple of months I went off it and that was that.

However…I am determined to start again…I shall start again tomorrow before my sleepy kids get up…wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “Me and Fitness

  1. Good Luck! It’s all about getting in the right frame of mind I find. If you really want to do it, you will.

Leave a Reply

