Music · Reminiscing

Me and the Last Night of The Proms

I have to say…I absolutely love The Proms. I like the way that Classical music is actually for the masses and not just for posh people. I used to go more regularly to the Albert Hall for some of them when I worked in London but have taken my kids to several as well. The Blue Peter Prom a few years ago was spectacular. They have also included a Doctor Who prom, a Comedy Prom and a Musicals Prom over the past few years. If that’s not for the masses, I don’t know what is!

I adore The Albert Hall. No matter where you sit, you can see everything. It’s such a beautiful building and even though it is quite big, it seems intimate. Not sure how that works, but it does. I actually prefer to sit in the first row of the circle above the boxes.

I haven’t ever been on the Last Night, but I can’t remember a year when I’ve not watched it on the telly. When I was young I used to watch it with my Mum. It’s one of the things that make me sad she is no longer here, but it makes me smile knowing I’m carrying on the tradition of watching. I know my brother feels the same way.

It’s one of those things that make you proud to be British. How could you not sing along to Land of Hope and Glory and Jerusalem without your heart swelling with pride? Of course, it’s nothing to do with the fact that my surname was Blake and Jerusalem was written by William Blake at all. All the flag waving and jingoism is so unlike our stiff-upper-lipped reputation – although I’m not sure the eccentricity isn’t more what we are really like.

In the recent past they have Last Night concerts in several places for you to enjoy the live atmosphere. I keep saying that I should go to Hyde Park and join in, but another year has come and gone and I didn’t do it…sigh…

Next year…maybe…but I’ll definitely be watching it from my sofa if not.

One thought on “Me and the Last Night of The Proms

  1. Lovely post. I love watching the Proms and it would be a real treat to be able to see it in person. I’ve always liked watching the proms but have only got into classical music in a big way over the last five years. I would agree that it appeals to the masses now as opposed to the ‘posh’ although, as you know, I am very posh. 😀
    You MUST go and experience the last night…be FAB!! 🙂 X

Leave a Reply

