Family · Remembering

Me, Remembrance Sunday and the Tower Poppies

I don’t know anyone in my family who fought in either World War. I don’t have any family currently in the Services. But I’ve always watched the Remembrance Day Parade and my kids have been involved in some when in Scouts and Guides. I think it is important that we do remember those who have fought and died for our freedoms. With Social Media and 24 hour rolling news, we have all had much more access to the modern conflicts and are much more aware and supportive of those that are killed and maimed.

In the past 10 years, as both my Nan and Mum have died in this week, that’s the poignant remembrance for me.

This year, the Centenary of the First World War, there has been a special art installation at the Tower of London. I’ve seen it on the telly and seen photographs. It looked amazing and my kids and I decided that as this was a Historic event and it would not be there forever, we really should go and see it. It literally took my breathe away and really touched me. The poppies are beautiful and when you take in the scale of numbers, it is humbling and awe-inspiring. My eyes were pricking with tears as we walked slowly around the Tower. Although there were quite a lot of people there, everyone was behaving respectfully.

Here are some of the pictures I took.

The contrast between the stone walls and the Poppies was so beautiful
The contrast between the stone walls and the Poppies was so beautiful
There were Poppy heads even on the stairs.
There were Poppy heads even on the stairs.
This cascade was just like a wave.
This cascade was just like a wave.
As far as you could see...so many Poppies representing so many lives lost.
As far as you could see…so many Poppies representing so many lives lost.
People had left photos of their loved ones that they were commemorating...it was  beautiful
People had left photos of their loved ones that they were commemorating…it was beautiful

I am so glad that I took the time to go and see this.

2 thoughts on “Me, Remembrance Sunday and the Tower Poppies

  1. A poignant post, Stella..
    I would have loved to have seen the memorial but it’s not possible so thank you for posting these pictures. I have a lump in my throat just seeing them online, it must have been an emotional experience to see them in person with the knowledge of what they represent.

    Hugs to you as you also remember your mum and nan. X

Leave a Reply

