Music · Theatre

Me and Les Miserables

Its quite well established that I love a bit of musical theatre. In fact I’m just deciding what to book for my birthday in a few weeks. I have seen many and varied performances and I usually enjoy films of musicals too.

Quite a while ago – probably 12 years ago – I went to see Les Miserables with my Mum and my Sister, who is a big fan, at the Cambridge Theatre in London. I was expecting great things. It was not to be. I was really disappointed, just not getting what all the hype was at all. It just didn’t reach out to me.

Of course, a few years ago, they made a big razzle dazzle film of it with Hugh Jackman and Russell Crowe playing the main protagonists. Interesting choices, I thought, but I still wasn’t bothered about going to see it. Β It won all sorts of awards and I heard all kinds of good things about Anne Hathaway’s performance but no, I still didn’t feel like I had to get it when the DVD came out.

However it appeared on the Netflix list over the Christmas period, so I saved it and sat down this afternoon to give it a go, as it’s the first time I’ve had a few hours on my own for a while.

I have to be honest. There was a lot to like. I liked the fact that the main parts were played by actors who you wouldn’t normally expect on a stage – although Hugh Jackman did start out that way in Oklahoma and playing Gaston in Beauty and the Beast but most people don’t realise that – to me it gave it a bit more of a realistic edge.

I really liked the intimacy of the solo songs. Just one person singing straight to camera during the heart-breaking songs was, to me, better than sitting in the back of an auditorium. You got to see the emotion better. Watching a tear fall down someone’s cheek has to tug at the heartstrings.

I loved Anne Hathaway’s version of I Dreamed A Dream, and when Hugh Jackman sung Bring Him Home I was blubbing like a baby. Usually I find that song a bit overblown. I loved the comic relief of Sacha Baren Cohen and Helena Bonham-Carter.

But…I still don’t get it. The story doesn’t really do it for me and as for the insipid couple of Cosette and Marius – meh! There are some good songs but they’ve been done to death.

Oh, well. You can’t like everything, eh?

9 thoughts on “Me and Les Miserables

  1. Oh I love Les Mis. I saw it in London in the early 90’s. I love the songs and the friend I went to see it with says it always makes her feel like being a revolutionary! Quite liked the film.

  2. *Waves hello*
    I’ve only watched half of. The DVD. I did enjoy it but had to cut short and I’ve not watched it all. Bring him home is one of my all time tear jerker songs ever! But you cannot beat live theatre, live music or live anything! I adore the fact you are sat, anonymous, one of many, all there for the same reason! ( with the exception of a few other halves who’ve been dragged along against their will! )

    1. Welcome to my nonsense! If you read some of my other posts you’ll see that it’s usually my son who joins me at the theatre, with the exception of my Blues Brothers trip – but that was a special one 😊 Gotta love a live show!

Leave a Reply

