Baking

Me and World Baking Day 

I rarely make chocolate cake. I mean, I make brownies and they’re always good, but chocolate isn’t the first ingredient I think of when making a big cake. Maybe it’s my Bundt obsession that has made me forget how good it is. However recently I bought the lovely book Deliciously Decorated by Charlotte White ( @restorationcake on Twitter and you can find her website here www.restorationcake.co.uk) and along with very good tips for making your cakes look beautiful – a skill in which I am most definitely an amateur – there are several recipes for cakes to make for you to decorate. One of these is Chocolate Mud Cake. I decided that would be the one I would make for World Baking Day yesterday. 

A few weeks ago, quite by chance, I went into TKMaxx and found one of the Elegant Heart NordicWare tins at half price so I had to have it. Now, I do think chocolate cake in a heart shape is just lovely, so I hatched a plan. I had a good look at the recipe and saw that it had quite a few similarities to the Bundt one I play with. So…it had to be done!

 

This is the recipe.

 Chocolate Mud Cake 

Makes 1 large cake or 2 tiers

Ingredients

220 g dark chocolate 

220 g unsalted butter 

2 tablespoons instant coffee granules 

160 ml water 

125 g plain flour

125 g self-raising flour

40 g cocoa powder

1⁄2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

480 g caster sugar

a pinch of salt

4 large eggs

21⁄2 tablespoons vegetable oil

110 ml buttermilk

Equipment

2 x 20-cm sandwich tins, lined and greased 

Preheat your oven to 160ºC (325ºF) Gas 3. 

Melt the chocolate and the butter in a small saucepan with the instant coffee granules and 160 ml water. Keep the temperature low and stir the mixture occasionally; turn off the heat when only a few small lumps of chocolate remain – these will melt in the heat of the mixture and turning the heat off early prevents burning. 

Sift the flours, cocoa powder, bicarbonate of soda and sugar into a bowl and add the salt. Make a small well in the centre and set aside. 

Beat the eggs, oil and buttermilk together in a jug before tipping this mixture into the dry ingredients and stirring it into a thick paste. 

Pour the melted chocolate and butter mixture on top of this paste and fold everything together with a wooden spoon until you have one glossy mixture in the bowl. 

Divide your cake mixture between two prepared cake pans and bake in the preheated oven for about 40 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean (or with only a few tiny crumbs attached to it). Allow the cakes to cool completely in their pans. 

I followed the recipe exactly, even though I wasn’t sure of coffee as an ingredient because I don’t drink coffee. The mixture looked and smelled delicious!

  
  I used the heart shaped tin which I greased as usual using a cake release spray.

It wasn’t quite done after 45 mins, so I left it in for another 10 mins, turned the oven off but left the cake in the oven while it cooled. Then I allowed it to cool for a good half hour in the tin.

 
I was nervous as I turned it out, but I needn’t have worried. As always with the Nordic Ware tins, if you grease them properly, there’s no problem.

To finish it off I made a drizzle with some Sugar and Crumbs Salted Caramel icing sugar. It really tasted great with the chocolate and defined the shape…although I would probably make it thicker next time. 

  

The cake was so good. I will definitely be using the recipe again. And the coffee? I’m not sure I could taste it at all!

6 thoughts on “Me and World Baking Day 

Leave a Reply

