Art

Me and Art

Art – its just so subjective isn’t it?

Since time began, people all over this planet of ours have decorated their bodies and homes with art.

I am lucky to live very close to our Capital city, surrounded by Galleries and Museums that can fill our eyes and souls with every kind of art imaginable. Around corners there are statues and architecture and even graffiti filled caverns which probably all qualify as Art. There has been a pedestal in Trafalgar Square that is empty and has been routinely filled with a different piece of artwork – some I’ve liked and some not so much. We have amazing Photography and Costumes on display too.

A little while ago there as a big Twitter hoohah surrounding Dismaland, a Banksy take on a well-known Theme Park that he had opened in Weston-Super-Mare and lots of my Twitter chums were very keen to get tickets, and some even managed to and have given the installation a visit. Those that have visited have described how clever it is, and amusing and I’m glad they enjoyed it, but it did not appeal to me in the slightest.

I guess my artistic tastes would be described thusly…I like things to be beautiful or interesting and If it has to be explained to me, It’s not for me. That’s not to say I don’t like art – and I believe that everyone has the right to look at a painting, sculpture, pile of dirty bedsheets and have an opinion – I suppose I’m just not very highbrow. Personally I don’t think that a film of a famous footballer asleep, which I saw in a Gallery a while ago, is very arty. Nor Basketballs set in a clear liquid in a fishtank. But a visit to the V&A to see Grace Kelly’s wardrobe or Wedding Dresses through the ages – oh, yes! Or an Ansell Adams Exhibition filled with photographs of American vistas – marvellous! I also went to see the Lichtenstein Exhibit when it was here, and was amazed to discover that the paintings were textured – each dot on the comic book style picture standing proud of surface and each about the size of a 10p piece. you don’t see that on the printed page.

Of course, last year it was all about the Poppy installation at the Tower of London. a simple, yet brilliant installation that seemed to move absolutely everyone who went to see it.

This cascade was just like a wave.
This cascade was just like a wave.

When we went to Italy for a significant birthday the piece I really wanted to see was the Michelangelo Pieta in St Paul’s. I’d been half in love with Michelangelo since I had read The Agony and the Ecstasy – a semi fictional account of his life, and when I saw this statue in the flesh, it moved me so much I wept.

© 2004 -- Ron Reznick http://www.digital-images.net [#Beginning of Shooting Data Section] Nikon D2H Focal Length: 28mm Optimize Image: Color Mode: Mode II (Adobe RGB) Noise Reduction: OFF 2004/11/02 07:31:40.7 Exposure Mode: Aperture Priority White Balance: Color Temp. (6300 K) Tone Comp: Less Contrast RAW (12-bit) Metering Mode: Multi-Pattern AF Mode: AF-C Hue Adjustment: 0° Image Size: Large (2464 x 1632) 1/40 sec - F/2 Flash Sync Mode: Not Attached Saturation: Exposure Comp.: -1.3 EV Sharpening: Normal Lens: 28mm F/1.4 D Sensitivity: ISO 200 Image Comment: [#End of Shooting Data Section]
© 2004 — Ron Reznick

Last year I watched a very interesting documentary series about Grayson Perry. I really enjoyed his knowledge and the way he engaged with the people he was talking to, but when it comes to his actual art, whilst I appreciate the effort and skill that goes into the pieces, they just didn’t do anything for me.

Just this week I visited Covent Garden, where a French Artist had filled the Atrium with white balloons, gently pulsing and lighting up at intervals. It was spectacular. I don’t need to know what, if anything, it was supposed to represent, but I really liked it.

Is it a stormcloud?
Is it a stormcloud?

A recent phenomena in cities is the  idea that you have a map to find different versions of a figure – elephants, penguins, Shaun the Sheep – for you to find. I think this is a great idea – a nice day out, a hunt and getting families to talk about which was their favourite…what’s not to like!

Its such a good thing that there is so much variety. wouldn’t it be boring if we all liked the same thing?

2 thoughts on “Me and Art

  1. Hi, ive just nominated you in my Blogger Recognition post. I like my art to be something recognisable. You see such odd things being passed off as art these days, like The Unmade Bed.

Leave a Reply

